Gatehouse Books - Literacy & ESOL specialist. Need help? Email or call us on 01925 267778

Sound Reads: Set 1 Readers and Workout

Regular price £75.00 Sale price £75.00

SOUND READS: Set 1 Readers and Workout

Sound Reads is a series of books written for older beginner readers. The books are graded to support a synthetic phonic approach to teaching reading. 

Set 1 comprises 10 reading books plus accompanying Workout activities (PDF).

  1. Black Death
  2. Red Hair
  3. The Shed
  4. Ham and Eggs
  5. Jed
  6. The Flat
  7. A Great Catch
  8. Escape
  9. Let It Rip
  10. Pant, Not Puff

Books in Set 1 use words that have phonically regular letter sounds including double letters and sh, ch and th.

Each book enables learners to consolidate their phonics skills and to practise a growing range of everyday (often irregular) words. A small number of more challenging, new words are also listed at the beginning of each book. It is recommended that learners become familiar with these at the start.

Reinforcement activities are available for each book as a Workout. It is expected that mentors support learners with both the word lists and the follow up activities. 


Additional Information

  • Author : Hollands Lewis & Richards
  • Reading Level : 1 - Very Easy Beginner Reader
  • Series : Sound Reads
  • Topic : Life
  • Topic : Literacy
  • Topic : Phonic
  • Publisher : Gatehouse Books
  • ISBN : 9781842312445

Customer Reviews

Based on 4 reviews Write a review